Members Minutes


WEDNESDAY 1sth May 2019

OPEN: Meeting with 30 members attending President Darryl Parker declared open at 9-30 am.

 APOLOGIES: Ian Murphy, Keith Cowie, Ray Huxley, Roger Cox, Ian Fryer, Byron Vollbon and Alan Sharp.

 MINUTES: Minutes of meeting held  3rd. April 2019 were tabled. Moved by Peter McMullen they be accepted, seconded by Jeffrey Cruise there being no business arising motion carried.

 CORRESPONDENCE: Inwards: From Gold Coast & Northern Rivers Probus Association directory of affiliated clubs for 2019, Details of Information Day to be held 17th May 2019. Out: Payment for our PO Box.

 FINANCE: Tony Ehlefeldt presented the financial report showing credit balance of $4,650.38 as at 21st April 2019. We continue to maintain a healthy financial position. Tony moved report be accepted, seconded Ken Laws. Carried.

 SOCIAL SECRETARY: Brian Sheehan advised next outing 15th May will be to Mt Tamborine  area visiting the “Heritage Centre” followed by lunch at “Eagle Heights Hotel”. First pick up at Benowa netball courts then usual pick up points heading north.

 WELFARE: Colin Mohr advised Desley Simpson is still recovering but doing well and she has been advised next visit to her doctor in 6 months which is good news. No other reported problems.

 FINES: Charlie Peters as usual did his best to separate members from their loose change.

 LUCKY DOOR PRIZES: Winners were: Jim Michael, Bill Nott, Murray Stewart, George Bagajluk, Terry Watt, Colin Mohr, Bill Smith, Joe Simpson, Chris Ball plus one other.

 GUEST SPEAKER: Murray Stewart introduced today’s speaker Andrew Bell an ex-policeman who gave us an insight into his undercover work in New Zealand by help solving one the the biggest illegal drug importing cases at that time. He also gave us an insight into  some of the unintended fring benefits of his undercover work to much amusment of our members. Murray Stewart  thanked Andrew for his presentation and moved a vote of thanks by members.

Murray advised our August speaker will be from “Berghof House”, Cancer Research Centre.   

 OTHER BUSNESS:  We now have the required numbers for the 40th anniversary lunch on 5th June at “Arundel Country Golf Club”. We will have our own room with doors open from 11-30 am to 3-00 pm. More details later.

President Darryl attended the Southport Anzac Day service and laid a wreath on behalf of our club. He would like to see more members attend next Anzac Day service in 2020.

We will be exhibiting at the 2nd May Seniors Expo at Runaway Bay and ask for members to assist in manning the stand.

 CLOSE: There being no other business meeting closed 11-15 am.